Thoughts While Monotonously Folding Letters

Uncategorized

I returned to my internship at Taft College this morning in a rather cheerier than usual mood after listening to a particularly hilarious episode of one of my favorite podcasts—Pop Culture Happy Hour. The first task given to me this morning was to fold about a hundred of these letters and slide them into envelopes.

Now, my boss apologized continuously about this dull task, but I was fine with it. I mean, who doesn’t like a little monotonous work to clear the brain and dwell on other things. So, while I was off thinking about the latest Star Wars movies, all the couture fashion shows I had to catch up on, and the particularly saddening episode of Supernatural I watched last night, the thought hit me.

Somewhere, everywhere, dozens of other unpaid interns must be doing the exact same thing. Fold and slip. Fold and slip. Fold and slip. Who knows how long they’ve been doing this dull task? What thoughts are filling up their minds? Are they thinking about dinner tonight? Are they regretting their decision to be sitting at this desk folding letters instead of laying out on a beach drinking a lemonade? Are their minds just . . . empty?

Pretty heavy thoughts for a Monday, I know. But hey, I’m a college student after all.

Leave a Reply

