#48 Gone Girl

movies, Uncategorized
Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.50.57 AM

Image via IMDb

I don’t know about you, but I’m the kind of girl who must read the book before I see the movie. It’s the inherent bookish, literature-loving, would-be novelist in me. Yes, I am of the camp that believes the book is ninety-nine percent of the time better than the movie and I’ve stuck to that over the years.

After I blazed through Gillian Flynn’s suspenseful novel about Nick Dunne helping the police search for his wife Amy when she goes missing on their anniversary, I was thrilled to get a chance to see the filmic representation.

I was a bit hesitant about Rosamund Pike and Ben Affleck’s incarnations of Amy and Nick, but they carried the roles flawlessly – Ben infused Nick with all of his naive, clueless nuances, Rosamund made Amy’s crossover from “Cool Girl” to complete psycho feel natural and terrifying with ease. It’s also my personal belief that the supporting characters are the ones who really flesh out the film and make it a truly enjoyable affair. Performances from Tyler Perry, Carrie Coon, and Kim Dickens pushed me into the story, making me a part of the mystery enveloping.

This enveloping of the movie, however, did run a bit long. That feeling from reading the book of hungrily flipping pages to get to what’s next didn’t exactly transfer into the film. Somewhere around the end of the second act, I began to feel how time was stretching on and began to itch for this all to wrap up.

However, the wrap up was far more satisfying than the book’s anti-climactic, somewhat disappointing close. Upon finishing the book, I couldn’t believe that it actually ended like this; it felt like a hurried way to tie up all of the loose ends, but with the film I believed the tragic ending, the way Amy and Nick end up together.

While nowhere near my favorite Fincher film, this was a good one – particularly because of the author’s spectacular writing on the screenplay (for which I thoroughly believe she should have won an Oscar for). Next time you’re looking for a thriller, check out Gone Girl.

Leave a Reply

